Get Anything or Die Tryin! [Why Plan B Can Be Our Downfall] | Radio The Rahim

A long while ago, a great warrior faced a situation which made it necessary for him to make a decision which insured his success on the battlefield. He was about to send his armies against a powerful foe, whose men outnumbered his own. He loaded his soldiers into boats, sailed to the enemy’s country, unloaded soldiers and equipment, then gave the order to burn the ships that had carried them. Addressing his men before the first battle, he said, “You see the boats going up in smoke. That means that we cannot leave these shores alive unless we win! We now have no choice–we win–or we perish! They won.

Every person who wins in any undertaking must be willing to burn his ships and cut all sources of retreat.” – above excerpt from Think and Grow Rich [Napolean Hill]

I am in a deep state of thought.

It might be unnecessary…but actually reflection is never unnecessary. As long as my thoughts stay productive.

Allow me to produce.

So you have this story, and the purpose of me posting the above story, was to suggest this crazy idea to you all that it’s not always about having a Plan B.

50 cent summed the above philosophy, in his own way, with his phrase,”Get Rich or Die Tryin‘”

He had a goal — wealth, and he felt so adamant about it that he felt that if he did not attain it, then the only other option was death.

How many of you feel that way about something? About anything? It doesn’t have to be wealth.

How many of you are brave enough to want something, and be able to cut off all sources of retreat? I think everyone, especially those that are fear and are insecure about the future (which is reasonable, since we can’t predict it with any strong degree of accuracy) have a tendency to always keep a plan B, C, D, and sometimes E in mind.

I am not here to try to judge your philosophy, because for all i know, I am absolutely incorrect about mine. However, the story above, since the day I read it, has stuck with me for years, and will until ...i’m too old to remember it.

I’d rather, actually rather than give you my interpretation of this particular story, like to open up the floor to whoever happens to read this and care enough to share a comment on it.

I will engage in conversation with whoever that may be.

Can’t think of anything?

Have you ever went INTO a relationship holding onto a dude/chick on the side just in case the one you were with messes up?

What powerful foes are you up against?

Really, really, think about it.

We’ll wait 😉

5 Responses

  1. Thats the story of Hernando Cortez when he was trying to conquer the Aztecs. His men wanted to leave out of fear, so he burned the ships so they didn’t have a choice but to fight and fight hard. I’ve drawn strength from this too and that’s why I decided to quit working my regular job to pursue growing my graphics and music business. I always had that “if business is slow I have my job” mentality, but it held back my own company’s advancement while I made somebody else richer. That’s wack to me because I have too much talent to waste away at a “regular” job. Sink or swim! Cosign!

  2. whats funny you hear alot of cats talk about plan b but never really have one. I think deep down we all have one ambition we are truly chasing, the “plan” just a name we make to our faulted attempts of reaching it, and the adjustment we make next time trying. In battle we might switch to a few different methods to come to the same desired outcome…just as long as it’s achieved

  3. plan B: Lord knows I hope I don’t need one. But my G-Ma says “its better to have one and not need one, than to need one and not have one”

    Law School is it. If I don’t finish or some foolishness happens (like getting pregnant) I do indeed need to be ready. I like where I am now, sort of, but have the potential to do much greater things. So for me, there is no turning back, as shi**y as the Logic Reasoning section of this exam is, I am determined to do well and move on.

  4. Well, I feel like there’s always a Plan B (you could be a teacher. lol) I’m joking but as you know, Rahim, I took that walk on faith. I always tell kids I speak to when I tour that, “There is no such this as an unrealistic dream, just unrealistic ways of going about getting that dream.” I’m pursuing my dream passionately. I believe that you have to act as if there is no Plan B to succeed. In every major success story (not the overnight, “Puffy saw me in the mall” stories, but the real ones), it was when all seemed lost that they got their big break. Kanye was evicted then in a car accident, Jim Carey was homeless, so many others were seeing a hard time, and then it happened. It still required more work, but they never stopped believing in their Plan A.

    My favorite book, The Alchemist, states “Once you begin to pursue your dreams, the whole universe will conspire to help you achieve it.” I am a living testament of that. The way I went from a confused music/poetry-loving college student to a member of the Nuyorican Slam Team to HBO’s Def Poetry to the 2007 NFL Draft spot to my album getting done to touring to….wherever my life takes me now. None of this started till I started believing it was going to happen.

    I’m only now learning to do that with my relationships though. lol.

  5. And there really is always a Plan B: Let God provide for you. If it doesn’t work out, He’ll take care of you.

Leave a Reply

